Welcome to No Quick Fix

First things first, I’m not a personal trainer, a dietician, or even what people would consider to be #fitspo (short for “fitness inspiration,” a popular hashtag on Instagram). Fitness is not my full-time job.  I’m a 34-year-old mom of two, wife, English teacher, and grad student. I’m just a normal girl who spent years on the hamster wheel of dieting before finding something that worked for me. I have cellulite, loose skin (thanks, kids!), and more stretch marks than a professional editor could Photoshop out. I struggle daily with body image issues, and my friends and family will agree that I probably have some level of body dysmorphia. I know what it’s like to step on the scale and see 200+, and I’ve tried every diet imaginable: low carb, no carb, Weight Watchers, Paleo, praying to the Patron Saint of Weight Loss. Wait, is there a Patron Saint of Weight Loss? Well, there damn well should be! I’ve restricted foods (Put the bread down, Rachel!), and I’ve all but starved myself in hopes that this time, things would be different. The diet would “stick” and I’d finally be able to get and keep the weight off. I’ve looked for a quick fix, and like so many other women, I got wrapped up in the world of weight loss shakes, wraps, cleanses, detox teas, and fat loss pills. The only thing I lost was money. If any of this sounds familiar, then you’re the reason I decided to write this blog. Spoiler alert: there is no quick fix.

Image

So, that’s me. Way to introduce yourself, Rach’. This isn’t the biggest version of me; this is the version of me the day that I finally started to get serious about fat loss. Truth: I hate my before pic. I mean, does anyone actually like their before pic? I hate to look at it. I hate the look on my face. I hate that I don’t have pants on. Little did I know when I took this picture that just a year later, it would be posted online for the world to see. (Here) If so, I definitely would’ve put pants on. But I also love this picture. Why? Because it reminds me of why I started. Because I look at it every time I feel like I’m not making progress and realize how far I’ve come. Because the reason it was posted online was to show the amazing transformation I made.

You can have the same results. You can have your half-naked picture put all over the internet too! (That was a joke.) You can transform your body! You can have your cake and eat it too (in moderation, of course).

Now this next part is gonna’ sting a little, but it’s the cold, hard truth and anyone who tells you otherwise is trying to make money off of you. You can’t do it in a month. You can’t take any shortcuts. That 30-day squat challenge isn’t going to give you the booty of your dreams. It’s hard work and it takes discipline. You will screw it up. You will have weak moments. You will get frustrated. But the fact that you are actually reading this now tells me that you are ready for a change.

In this blog, I’m going to tell you the basics first. Trust me, I’ve spent approximately 492,581 hours researching this stuff and it can be overwhelming and complicated.  I’ve done the research and I’ve put in the work so that you don’t have to.  I’m going to show you how to make dieting work for you in simple terms that people who aren’t in the fitness industry can understand.  Along with that, I’m going to share tips, tricks, and debunk dieting/fitness myths (including my favorite myth: carbs make you fat <eye roll>).  I will also share recipes (with nutritional info), grocery hauls, and my workouts. Most blog posts will end with at least one action for you to take.  After all, you can read this crap all day long, but until you decide to take action, none of it matters. I’m so excited about this adventure, and I hope you are too! It’s not easy, it takes time, but it’s totally worth it.


Action Items:

  1. Think about (and preferably write down) your nutritional/fitness goals. It could be to lose weight, live a healthier lifestyle, eat more fruits and veggies, work out more, gain confidence, feel good in your own skin, make your high school boyfriend jealous (hey, to each her own), etc. Everyone’s goals are different. When you lose your motivation – and you WILL because you’re human – reflecting on these goals helps.
  2. Share and follow. Please share this blog on Facebook or other social media platforms. My goal is that my friends (and hopefully my friends’ friends) stop wasting their money and time on diets that do not work, waist trainers that “burn fat” and pills/teas/shakes that are full of chemicals and crap THEY. DON’T. NEED. The only way I can achieve that is by spreading the word. Also, give me a follow on Instagram @rachelelisemiller or by clicking the link at the bottom of this page, and I’ll make sure to follow you back. I post most of my fitness-related stuff there.

 

If you made it this far, you deserve a taco!

❤ Rachel

14 thoughts on “Welcome to No Quick Fix

  1. You rock Rachel!!! I can verify everything she is telling you, because I have been tagging along to the gym with her for over a year now and following nutritional advice. You won’t see my before and after pics, but you will see me in some of my daughters photos! I can tell you I’m the mother of four and grandmother of four. I work full time and have time for all this as well as many other things, including helping out with children’s ministry! Btw No one believes my age when told, just saying!

    Like

  2. Well my BFF. I’m so very proud of you! You are so beautiful in every stage and shape and flux and post-taco and Margarita! But I love how you found a passion for the truth in a healthy practical life style. You will help a lot of people. And maybe I can find my way too 😘 Love you!

    Like

  3. Great job lady! I look forward to following your blog. I thought about texting you before to ask you some questions…I still may😄

    Like

  4. Rachel, of course I’m always proud of what you do but this is a new level of Daddy pride .
    This will be so inspiring and encouraging to so many including me .
    I’ve said it for years and I’ve always meant it ” you will change the world”. As your dad, I can say I’ve watched your transformation and have been stunned at the results. The awesome part of your story is your experience will be the door others walk through to experience theirs and on and on.
    Godspeed and good luck on your blog…….you’re continued success and all those tacos you’re gonna eat and still look that good!
    I Love you . Dad, your #1 fan!!!

    Like

  5. I enjoyed reading this and I can’t begin to tell you how proud I am of you and all of your accomplishments. Your story is inspirational and most importantly very relate-able! I enjoyed reading it and look forward to the recipes and other advice you have to share. BTW, I think you will be happy to know that I have started back to tracking my meals, I know it is my missing link to achieving my goals. As you pointed out one time in one of your posts, there was a direct correlation between your consistency in tracking and your weight loss success. It takes time and effort but I know it makes all the difference. Thanks for the inspiration! Love you!
    P.S. I’m going to earn my taco, LOL!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! You are beautiful and healthy, and your running skills are amaze balls. Like, I seriously couldn’t keep up with you. I’m so proud of your progress. Tracking isn’t the easiest, but it’s worth it. Love you!

      Like

  6. Great job Rachel! I am right there with you. I have tried everything. Sometimes with great results that are just temporary.

    Like

Leave a Reply

